The fox in the cage.

I often visit the botanical garden to take pictures, and when I go I always go very early, before 07:00. There are less people and the wildlife is more visible. I love taking pictures of the foxes that roam the area, but according to the garden too much of a good thing is bad.

Foxes have been roaming the garden for at least 10 years. I vividly remember that before their arrival rabbits were plentiful as well as squirrels. That is certainly one reason why foxes were permitted to establish themselves: to control the population of squirrels and to eradicate the rabbits. These two are pests as they uproot plants and destroy the habitat.

However the garden likes the foxes, they usually leave every year only a couple of foxes to start the cycle again every year. They usually capture most young foxes starting in July or August. But this year it seems that they have started earlier, or it was always like that and I never noticed until it was too obvious to miss.

On that Saturday morning recently I was walking in an area called the children’s garden. This area is reserved for children in the neighbourhood so that they can plant vegetables and collect prizes for them. A friendly competition between the children. Naturally, too many foxes running around the area could pose a problem, although I have yet to see a fox eat carrots or turnips. But they do eat raspberries.

I walked behind a section where the employees have a small building. This is also used by the children from what I have seen. Behind it, well hidden from people, I found a cage and in it was a small fox.

It seemed to look frightened of me, trying to get at the back of the cage well away from me. It had these brown eyes that looked imploringly at me, as if asking what will I do now.

I thought about it for about 30 seconds and then walked away. Two reasons motivated my inaction; one, there were still 5 young foxes running around on top of four adults. That is still a lot of foxes to take pictures of. Secondly, odds are that even if I had released it the fox would be back in that same cage sooner or later, having eaten the free food inside. In other words, it was a losing proposition for me and for the fox.

I did feel bad as I left the fox in that cage as in all probability it would be destroyed. One less fox roaming around. But I also did not know how to open the cage securely and I was afraid of being bitten by the fox accidentally. I know that this sounds as excuses but they did enter my mind as I weighed my decision. Happy that I am not a judge. And of course, I do not go to the garden every day. In other words, of the foxes that get trapped eventually nothing I can do on a single day will change this. Or the cage would be moved in areas where I cannot access it. A losing proposition for me and the fox. Sometimes in life there are no real choices to make. Sometimes the hand that you are dealt is bad and nothing cane be done about this but to play what you have and hope for the best.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Essays, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

