Is your glass half-empty or half-full?

I admit, I see the glass half empty on most days. It is probably a quirk of my personality, of my genetic make-up. I would not call myself a pessimist, just someone who way too often sees that I am missing things that other people seem to have in spades. Due to my solitary nature I have few friends. I do not mind, unfortunately books do not talk back to you, and e-books even less!

Comparing oneself to others is not a recipe for happiness, for we are bound to find someone who is better than us, in all sorts of ways. I suppose that to feel good about ourselves we should focus on our shortcomings, and try to be better than we were a year ago. Our only competition should be ourselves. That is the only thing that matters in the end, if we can better ourselves. Trying to best others is really a recipe for unhappiness as we will always want more and crave more. We must be satisfied with what we have, especially if once the necessaries of life have been obtained.

Leave a comment

Filed under Essays

Leave a Reply

